Instagram adds new functionality to the Notes feature. Now users can share two-second videos in Notes.

Instagram first released the Notes feature last year, which makes it easy for users to share quick updates with followers and close friends. This status-like feature initially only allowed users to share text or emojis.

Since its release, Instagram has also added the option to share music and translate text in Notes. Thanks to the latest update, Instagram users can now upload short videos that can be viewed for 24 hours before they disappear automatically.

Even though they are both ephemeral content that disappears after 24 hours, videos shared on Instagram Notes are different from videos shared on Instagram Stories.

First, videos on Instagram Notes are limited in duration to just two seconds. Second, videos on Instagram Notes can only be taken using the front camera so they are in the form of selfies. Apart from that, video content can only be taken using the camera so you cannot upload it directly from the cellphone gallery.

How to upload videos on Instagram Notes

1.Open the Instagram application then go to the inbox by tapping the chat icon in the top right corner or swiping to the left from the main Instagram page

2.Tap your profile photo in the Notes bar

3.Tap the camera icon near your profile photo

4.Record a two-second video using the front camera

5.Once you are satisfied with the video, you can add a caption in text form then upload the video

6.Your Notes video will appear above the inbox replacing your Instagram profile photo.

In addition to video support for Notes, Instagram is also adding a new way for users to reply to Notes uploaded by friends. Now users can respond to Notes using audio, photos, videos, GIFs and stickers, as quoted from Engadget, Sunday (17/12/2023).

The option to respond to a Note using text is also still available. Replies to Notes will be directed to the recipient’s inbox, along with other messages.

Apart from video notes, Instagram recently released an option that allows users to share posts on feeds and Reels only with close friends. Previously the close friends option was only available for content in Stories.